Veiled in Smoke – Jocelyn Green

$19.99

Product Description

Meg Townsend is a gifted artist who sells her paintings in the family bookstore in Chicago run by her sister, Sylvie. Their father, Stephen, who suffers from soldier’s heart (PTSD) after being held in a prisoner of war camp, Andersonville, during the Civil War, spends the nights patrolling their roof and his days mapping out Andersonville n their yard. They come in contact with Chicago Tribune reporter Nate Pierce when he writes a series of articles about war heroes. When the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago, their home and business are destroyed, and the girls become separated from their father. When they find Stephen days later, he is accused of murdering a family friend, Hiram Sloane, and is sentenced to the Cook County Insane Asylum. Meg asks for Nate’s help in clearing her father’s name, while Sylvie develops feelings for Hiram’s nephew, Jasper, who may know more than he’s telling about his uncle’s death. History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green’s Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)